Tom Grant, SAEWA CHAIR (2019 - 2020)

Tom Grant - Chair (2019 - 2020)

Tom Grant - Chair (2019 - 2020)

We welcome Tom Grant as the newly elected Chair for SAEWA.

Successively he brings a continued strength in history of knowledge of the project development having served on the SAEWA Board for more than 3 terms. 

Tom also serves as the Mayor of the Town of Vulcan which demonstrates his long standing commitment to public service and community leadership in interest of creating a better future for our public and families. 

Ben Armstrong, SAEWA Past Chair (2019 - 2021)

Ben Armstrong, SAEWA Past Chair (2019 - 2021)

Ben Armstrong, SAEWA Past Chair (2019 - 2021)

Ben Armstrong having served 2 terms as SAEWA has been elected to serve the next 2 year term as Past Chair (2019 - 2021). Ben continues his commitment towards the future development of the project as he represents SAEWA as a representative / Councillor for Wheatland County. He also represents Drumheller & District Solid Waste Management Authority as Board Chair. 

Paul Ryan, SAEWA Vice Chair (2018 - 2020)

Paul Ryan, SAEWA Vice Chair & Project Lead

Paul Ryan, SAEWA Vice Chair & Project Lead

Paul Ryan, Vice Chair to SAEWA Executive Board provides stakeholder and Project Lead expertise as the key official public outreach representative to the association, Paul has been diligent in delivering engaging, on point presentations and reliable communications to the membership regional footprint and government stakeholders. Additional committments include:

  • Paul represents SAEWA as Vice Chair and Project Lead
  • Councillor, MD of Bighorn 
  • Board Member, Calgary Regional Airshed Zone (CRAZ)  

Paul serves as a tireless steward of maintaining positive government outreach, this has been extremely significant given the rise in challenge due to continued changes to government representation in Alberta.

SAEWA continues to make significant progress in development of an Energy-from-Waste facility in benefit of Paul's tireless efforts and ongoing drive for results!


Kim Craig, SAEWA Executive Director at Large (2019 - 2021)

Kim Craig, SAEWA

Kim Craig, SAEWA

Kim Craig, Mayor of the Town of Coaldale and representative to SAEWA has been elected as an Executive at Large to the Board (2019 - 2021). Some of Kim's other commitments to public service include:

  • Alberta Urban Municipalities Association (AUMA) Board of Directors (Director, Towns South)
  • Mayors & Reeves of South West Alberta Municipal Partner

Kim is focused on creating a better future for southern AB through an unfettered commitment to public service and the SAEWA initiative. His career background is in the financial services sector. 


Ray Juska, Executive Member Secretary (2018 - 2020)

Ray Juska, Secretary to the SAEWA Executive Board is the appointed representative of the Newell Regional Solid Waste Management Authority. Ray continues to bring his knowledge of waste treatment and solutions management to the Board along with his stayed leadership to move the project to the finish line. 

(Picture to be up-loaded)

Larry Wright, Executive Director Treasurer (2019 - 2021)

Larry Wright, representative of the Town of Olds to the SAEWA Board has been re-elected for another term as Treasurer to the Executive Board. 

Some of Larry's other leadership initiatives include Economic Development for the Town of Olds. 

(Picture to be added)

Enabling energy markets of tomorrow The Heads of Delegation reaffirmed the importance of integrated energy markets as part of open, flexible, competitive and transparent global energy markets. They also recognized the need for continued and substantial investments in energy infrastructure and discussed G7 governments’ role in addressing investment barriers. They noted the importance of community engagement and meaningful dialogue to build public confidence in energy projects, including through consultation with women, youth and Indigenous groups. Heads of Delegation expressed their intent to pursue energy market integration as well as measures that will achieve more dynamic, transparent and competitive energy markets and more predictable energy trade. In this regard, they reiterated the importance of greater flexibility of commercial clauses in LNG contracts, including relaxation of destination restrictions, and similar restrictive mechanisms. To this end, they encouraged the sharing of information, on a voluntary basis, of private sector and regulatory best practices.