

Southern Alberta Energy from Waste Association Annual General Meeting

November 27, 2020

1. Call to order – 10:10 am

Chairman, Tom Grant welcomed everyone and called to order the AGM of the Southern Alberta Energy from Waste Association (SAEWA) at 10:10am on November 27, 2020 via Zoom and introduced the Board.

2. Roll Call

Chairman, Tom Grant made formal introductions of the Board of Directors thanking them for their patience in the process, commitment and continued service reflecting on a very productive period 2018-2020, also referring to the Letter to Members November 13, 2020 distributed to members along with the AGM Agenda pkg. in summarization of progress and outcomes; and advising the Members that SAEWA will be requiring their support as we apply to the Emissions Reduction Alberta Fund to keep the project moving forward to procurement.

Thank you to Directors and members for their maintained patience and steadfast support.

3. Adoption of 2020 AGM Agenda

Chair Grant moved adoption of agenda.

Carried All

4. Adoption of 2019 AGM Minutes

Ben Armstrong moved adoption of 2019 AGM minutes.

Carried All

Chair Grant introduced Paul Ryan to present the Project update at 10:16am.

5. Vice Chair / Project Lead Ryan provided AGM 2020 Project update at 10:16am – 10:39am.

6. Vice Chair Ryan introduced the Auditor as Derek Taylor, KPMG to deliver the 2019 audited financial statements.

Page | 1 SAEWA AGM 2020 Meeting Minutes – draft Submitted: by Sherry Poole



7. Audited Financial Statements

Derek Taylor of KPMG delivered the audited 2019 financial statements. Moved by Paul Ryan to accept financials as presented.

Carried All (16)

Reappointment of KPMG as Auditor 2020 - 2021 Moved by Paul Ryan to appoint Derek Taylor with KPMG as auditor until next SAEWA Annual General Meeting.

Carried All (16)

9. Elections of Directors and Executive Officers (<u>all</u> eligible voters (16) exercised roll call voting <u>yeh</u> or <u>neh</u> in accordance with eligible registered votes paid in good standing)

The Nominations Chair, Greg Sheppard was called upon in approval of the 2020 Nominations List:

- (1) Past Past Chair Ben Armstrong, representative appointed by Wheatland County
- (2) Kim Craig, representative appointed by Town of Coaldale
- (3) Ryan Fleetwood, representative appointed by Vulcan County
- (4) Bob Reid, representative appointed by Village of Cremona
- (5) Joe Watson, representative appointed by Picture Butte
- (6) Larry Wright, representative appointed by Town of Olds

Moved by Greg Sheppard to approve the 2020 nominations as presented.

Carried All (16)

The Nominating committee nominated: (6) Directors: (2 year – even year terms) – 2020 - 2022

(1) Past – Past Chair: Ben Armstrong

Carried All (16)

Carried All (16)

Carried All (16)

(2) Kim Craig

(3) Ryan Fleetwood

(4) Bob Reid

Page | 2 SAEWA AGM 2020 Meeting Minutes – draft Submitted: by Sherry Poole Carried All (16)



(5) Joe Watson

Carried All (16)

(6) Larry Wright

Carried All (16)

Carried All (16)

Moved by Paul Ryan that nominations cease.

Directors were acclaimed as above.

10. Closing Statements -

Chair, Tom Grant in his closing notes thanked the Directors and Directors elect (2020 – 2022) for their unfettered commitment to bringing the project along recognizing that as a non-profit it has sometimes seemed against all odds being challenged by the delays of accessing and applying for funding full circle that with the "bull dog efforts of the administration in finding and applying successfully for project development funding" that we are now in a strong position to move the project to Procurement with our application to the Emissions Reduction Alberta Funding.

Thank you again to our stakeholders for their support and vision aligned with SAEWA's mission seeing the project through development of an Energy from Waste Facility that will reduce impact of landfilling and GHG's for a better environmental and economic future for our members.

11. Adjournment

The Annual General Meeting was closed by Chair Grant at 11:27 am.

Page | 3 SAEWA AGM 2020 Meeting Minutes – draft Submitted: by Sherry Poole